Daily pro wrestling history (12/26): Austin Aires wins the ROH World Title


Nashville, Tennessee:
– Yaqui Joe defeated Gus Wisbar for the Tennessee version of the World Middleweight Title 


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– Verne Gagne and Bronko Nagurski defeated The Atomic Blonds (Johnny Valentine and Chet Wallich) to win the Minneapolis version of the NWA World Tag Team Title


Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada:
– Orest Antonation and Lorne Corlett defeated Joe Fiorino and Al Torres to become the first Madison Wrestling Club Middleweight Tag Team Champions 


Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Otto Von Krupp dq
– Mr. M beat Bobo Brazil 
– Tiny Mills drew Nick Roberts 
– Larry Hennig beat Maurice LaPointe 


Chattanooga, Tennessee:
– Jackie Fargo and Mario Milano defeated Tojo Yamamoto and Ivan Malenkov to win the Mid-America version of the NWA Southern Tag Team Title


Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada:
– Dominic DeNucci and Don Leo Jonathan defeated Don Jardine and Dutch Savage for the Vancover version of the NWA World Tag Team Title 


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
– Danny Lynch defeated Dave Ruhl to win the Calgary version of the NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title

Sydney, Australia:
– King Curtis Iaukea and Buddy Austin defeated Mario Milano and Spiros Arion to win the International Wrestling Alliance Tag Team Titles


Indianapolis, Indiana:
– Moose Cholak and Wilbur Snyder won the World Wrestling Association World Tag Team Titles by defeating The Fabulous Kangaroos (Al Costello and Don Kent)

Minneapolis, Minnesota:
– One Fall to a Finish, No Time Limit: AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Edouard Carpentier
– Hercules Cortez beat Butcher Vachon
– Nick Bockwinkel beat Bob Kappel
– Strong Kobayashi beat Pepper Gomez 
– Big K beat Kenny Jay


Columbia, South Carolina:
– Gene and Ole Anderson defeated Brute Bernard and Jay York to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic Tag Team Title 


Greensboro, North Carolina:
– Paul Jones defeated Ivan Koloff for the NWA Mid-Atlantic Television Title


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
– Ed and Jerry Morrow defeated Mr. Hito and Gil Hayes for the Stampede International Tag Team Title 


Greensboro, North Carolina:
– Ric Flair and Greg Valentine defeated Gene and Ole Anderson to win the Mid-Atlantic version of the NWA World Tag Team Title

Toronto, Ontario, Canada:
– The Sheik won the Toronto version of the NWA United States Heavyweight Title, defeating Thunderbolt Patterson 

Chattanooga, Tennessee:
– Bill Dundee and Ricky Gibson defeated Dennis Condrey and Phil Hickerson to win the NWA Mid-America Tag Team Title 

Green Bay, Wisconsin:
– Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke no contest Peter Maivia & The Crusher
– Greg Gagne beat Pierre Poisson 
– Billy Francis beat Roger Kirby 


St. Petersburg, Florida:
– Eric Embry won a tournament final to win the vacant Florida Television Title

Denver, Colorado:
– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Tito Santana
– Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum beat Billy Robinson & Baron Von Raschke
– Hulk Hogan beat Shiek Adnan
– Greg Gagne beat Bobby Heenan
– Jim Brunzell beat Rene Goulet

Columbus, Ohio:
– Bugsy McGraw defeated The Great Kabuki in a fictitious match for the NWA American Heavyweight Title 

St. Petersburg, Florida:
– David Von Erich defeated Jack Brisco to win the NWA Florida Southern Heavyweight Title
– Eric Embry won a tournament final for the vacant NWA Florida Television Title


New York, New York
– The Iron Sheik defeated Bob Backlund to win the WWF World Title 

Memphis, Tennessee:
– Randy Savage won the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title, defeating Terry Taylor 


Biloxi, Mississippi:
– Ted DiBiase and Steve Williams defeated Eddie Gilbert and Dick Murdoch (replacing The Nightmare) to win the Mid-South Tag Team Titles


Portland, Oregon:
– Abbuda Dein (Rocky Iaukea) defeated Art Barr to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Television Title


Norfolk, Virginia:
– Rick Steiner defeated Mike Rotundo to win the NWA World Television Title 
– Ric Flair defeated Lex Luger to retain the NWA World Title
– Sting & Dusty Rhodes defeated The Road Warriors by dq in a match for the NWA World Tag Team Title

Memphis, Tennessee:
– AWA Champion Jerry Lawler double count out Dutch Mantel
– Jerry Lawler won a Battle Royal for a Fur Coat
– Ricky Morton beat Phil Hickerson
– Bill Dundee beat Sid Vicious dq
– Robert Fuller beat Wendell Cooley
– Beauty & The Beast beat Jeff Jarrett & Tracy Smothers
– Candi Divine beat Sylvia
– Del Wilkes drew Scott Steiner
– Scott Steiner & Brian Lee beat Mike Davis & Burt Timmons


Hamamatsu, Japan:
– Tatsumi Fujinami defeated Riki Choshu for the IWGP Heavyweight Title
– Hiro Saito and Super Strong Machine defeated Hiroshi Hase and Kensuke Sasaki to win the IWGP World Tag Team Titles 

Memphis, Tennessee:
– Joey Maggs defeated Danny Davis to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title


Monticello, New York:
– Joe Savoldi defeated The Tazmanic to win the IWCCW Light Heavyweight Title
– Tom Brandi is awarded as the first IWCCW Television Champion


Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
– Terry Funk pinned ECW Heavyweight and Television Champion Sabu in a No Disqualification match to win the Heavyweight Title


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Beauty and the Beast (Jim and Ron Harris) defeated The Moondogs (Rex and Spot) to win the USWA Tag Team Titles
– PG-13 (JC Ice and Wolfie D) defeated Beauty and the Beast to win the USWA Tag Team Titles


Monterrey, Mexico:
– Hector Garza defeated Pirata Morgan for the International Wrestling Council World Heavyweight Title


Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:
– Austin Aries defeated Samoa Joe to win the ROH Heavyweight Title
– Jay Lethal defeated Prince Nana’s Weapon of Mask Destruction #2
– Steve Corino and CM Punk defeated Alex Shelley and Roderick Strong
– Low Ki and Bryan Danielson fought to a no contest



1955 – Don Eagle beat Wolfman John Smith (Tampa)

1956 – Therese Theis won a five woman Battle Royal (Fort Pierce)

1960 – Chief Big Eagle double count out Buddy Austin (Bradenton)

1960 – Lu Kim & Hans Schmidt beat Chief Big Heart & Man Mountain Managoff via DQ (Orlando)

1966 – Great Malenko beat Eddie Graham in a Russian chain match (Orlando)

1967 – Hiro Matsuda & Duke Keomuka beat Don Serrano & Silento Rodriguez (Fort Myers)

1967 – Johnny Valentine beat Joe ScarpA to win the Florida title (Tampa)

1972 – Big Bad John beat Buddy Colt (Tampa)

1973 – Mike Graham beat Buddy Colt via DQ in a Florida title match (Miami Beach)

1978 – Dick Slater beat Jos LeDuc via DQ in a Southern title match (Tampa)

1979 – Dusty  Rhodes no contest Bad Leroy Brown (Miami Beach)

1984 – Brian Blair won Battle Royal (Miami Beach)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.