Gopher Wrestling Postseason Banquet Set for Sunday

Gopher Wrestling will celebrate the highlights of the past season and the careers of its senior class this Sunday at the team’s annual postseason event

The Gopher Wrestling team will host its postseason banquet this Sunday in Minneapolis, an annual tradition which provides staff and student-athletes the opportunity to thank some of their most loyal supporters and celebrate the high points of both the past season and the careers of seniors who are graduating and moving on from the program.

As a team, the 2014-15 edition of the Gophers provided fans with plenty of memorable moments: Chris Dardanes seemingly impossible comeback from down six points in the third period to Zane Richards (Illinois) to win in sudden victory overtime; Scott Schiller’s thrilling, last-second takedown of Nathan Burak (Iowa) on Senior Night in front of one of the biggest crowds in collegiate dual match history when Iowa visited Williams Arena, and; Michael Kroells winning three straight matches in wrestlebacks at the NCAA Championships to earn his first career All-America honor.

This year’s senior class provided their share of incredible moments for Gopher fans in recent seasons, most notably contributing to three top-three finishes in the NCAA Championships in the past four years. Individual career highlights from this senior class include four wrestlers finishing their careers with 100 or more wins: Logan Storley (119, tied for 16th in program history), Scott Schiller (118, tied for 18th), Nick Dardanes (109) and Chris Dardanes (101). Schiller’s 118 wins were amassed with a winning percentage of .843, the 15th-highest in Gopher history. The fifth featured starter in this year’s senior class, Dylan Ness, finished his career with 37 pins, tied for the 9th-most in Minnesota’s record books. Among them, those five earned 15 All-America medals. Storley and Ness earned four each, making them the ninth and tenth Gophers to achieve that feat. In addition, seniors Seth Lange, Conrad Rangell and Pat Smith will speak and be honored for their contributions to the program during their careers.

Beyond reflection on this season and seniors’ careers, Gopher Wrestling will announce the winners of its team awards for 2014-15. These awards include:

  • Academic Awards
  • “M” Club First Year Awards
  • Most Dedicated Wrestler Award
  • Chris Berglin Most Improved Wrestler Award
  • Most Exciting Wrestler Award
  • Fraser Dean Most Courageous Wrestler Award
  • Verne Gange Scholarship/Leadership Award
  • Intensity Award
  • Most Valuable Wrestler Award
  • Freshman of the Year Award
  • Most Falls Award
  • All-Americans

Be sure to check on next Monday to see which Gophers receive this season’s team awards and follow Gopher Wrestling on Facebook and Twitter for the latest news around the program.

View More College News

Click Here: camiseta seleccion argentina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.